top of page


Unseasonably warm weather greeted competitors at the Bugatti Owners’ Clubs season finale on Saturday. Drivers vying for points in the host club’s various championships were joined by others from a variety of guest series.

The action came to a slightly premature conclusion late in the second timed runs when a competitor struck the Armco safety barrier on the hill. Although barrier did its job, allowing the driver to emerge unscathed, it sustained damage that could not be repaired in the time available and positions were declared based on competitors’ first timed runs.

Victory in the Ferrari Hillclimb Championship with Pirelli went to the F430 coupe of Nick Taylor ahead of Iwan Attwood’s Dino 308GT4 while in the Aston Martin Owner’s Club series Peter House’s Vantage GT4 edged the Vantage S of Guy Staudt by a little over a quarter of session.

The Bugatti Owners’ Club New Barn RS Interclub Speed Championship attracted a strong entry in the expert category with victory going to the Alfa Romeo 4C of Will Gough ahead of Patrick Hadley in his 3.9 litre Morgan Plus 8. Simon Dudfield claimed third place in his Lotus Elise.

The saloon car class of the club’s Fassi Classic Speed Championship produce a win for John Louch in his Austin A40 Farina. Second place went to the Triumph Vitesse Mark11 of Alistair Clark while Steve Louch claimed third in the family A40 Farina.

First and second places in the sports car class of the Championship went to a shared car, Ben Cross finishing ahead of Tim Cross in their MG Midget while victory among the race cars went to the immaculate Brabham BT16 of Ian Baxter.

The 500 Owners Association Championship for the small engined single seaters saw the up to 500cc category go to Cooper Mark11 of Richard Robarts while Jonathan Lawrence took second place in his Cooper Mark 8. Victory in the over 550cc category was claimed by Charles Reynolds in his Cooper Mark 7 ahead of the Cooper T9 of Richard Ashford.

The MSCC Techniques Speed Championship featured Morgan sports cars dating from the 1930s to the current era with the win going to the 3.9 litre Morgan Roadster of Simon Baines from the lightweight 3 litre Roadster of Paul Clarke.

Another classic British sportscar marque competed in the TR Revington TR Register Speed and Hillclimb Championship with top honours going to the Triumph TR7 V8 of Larry Jeram Croft from John Blake’s TR4.

The Saloon Car class of the Bugatti Owners’ Club Allcomers handicap was won by the Ford Fiesta of Sam Rawcliffe ahead of Malcolm Evans in his Toyota Yaris with third place going to the Mini Cooper S of Jake Wheeler.

David Franklin, currently in his 59th year of motorsport competition took top honours in the sports car class driving a Porsche 911 3.0RS with Chris Stone claiming second place driving the same car. Austin Wellman finished third in his Lotus Elise S1.

Mike Hawke took the unique Hawke Phoenix to top honours in the race car handicap category ahead of Ginetta G16 sports racer of Edward Tyack. The motorcycle engined Magnum 843 of Kerry Waine finished third.

Pre 1947 honours went to the Riley Special of Christopher Tabor while the Bugatti Williams Monaco Trophy saw top honours go to the Rupert Marks at the wheel of his Bugatti Type 13 Brescia.

Best time of the day, meanwhile, was set by Pete Tatham in his OMS 28 1300cc single seater with a time of 38.42s.

This may have been the Championship finales there is still plenty to look forward to at Prescott on both the motoring and social front. On November 4 the hill play host to the unique Rally Prescott with rally cars both past and present tackling the course against the clock in daylight and dark. It’s definitely an event not to be missed.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page