top of page


A wide variety of cars, bikes, trikes and sidecar outfits provided an entertaining and eventful weekend of hill climb action as the Bugatti Owners’ Club held their Midsummer Meeting at Prescott.

The event also recalled a visit to the venue fifty years ago by Raymond Mays when he was celebrating the fiftieth anniversary of the naming of his two cars, Cordon Bleu and Cordon Rouge.

In the Midland Speed Championship, Chris Green topped the Saturday standings in his OMS 28 single seater while fastest on Sunday was Scott Rayson in his distinctive Special Sand Racer ahead of the same car in the hands of Emma Rayson.

Fastest of the Bristol Motor Club MX5 Challenge runners on Saturday was Nicholas Angrave and he repeated the achievement in Sunday’s point scoring round.

The Hillclimb and Sprint Association Speed Championship produced a Saturday win for Christopher Guy in his Jedi Mark4 just two weeks after the marque’s 40th anniversary was celebrated at Prescott Historique. Michael Bartlett claimed second place in his Radical Prosport but was able to go one better on Sunday and claim victory.

There were back-to-back wins for Anthony Ward in the Midland Automobile Club’s Sunrise Speed Championship driving his OMS SC4CF sports racer.

In the Bugatti Owners’ Club Handicap, Ethan Brayshaw took top saloon car honours on Saturday in his Mini Cooper S ahead of the same car driven by Jason Brayshaw while on Sunday Paul Morcom used his Mark 1 Mini to outpace the Fiat Abarth 595 of David Garnett by little more than a tenth of a second.

Among the Sports cars, Anthony Earl took the Saturday win in his Caterham 7 Roadsport while John Bradshaw, at the wheel of a Westfield SeiW, took top honours on Sunday.

Top honours among the race cars went to the Van Diemen RF84 of Laurence Marks on both days with Tom Richardson producing a similar performance among the Pre 1947 cars in his Gypsy GN Special.

The Bugatti Owners Club New Barn RS Interclub Speed Championship contenders were only present on Saturday with Malcolm Evans taking the win in the expert category in his Renault Clio while first place among the novices went to Chris McQueen driving his GBS Zero sports car.

The Caterham and Lotus Seven Club Speed Championship attracted a very healthy entry and the four classes each produced two wins for the same drivers, Charlie Wilson in his Caterham 7, Neal O’Leary at the wheel of a Caterham Academy Car, Robert Jacobs, once again driving a Caterham 7 and finally Lewis Carine competing in a Caterham 7 Supersport.

There was another brace of wins in the Bugatti Williams Monaco Trophy Cars Handicap with Rupert Marks taking top honours each day in his Bugatti Type 13 Brescia.

The National Hill Climb Association’s annual visit to Prescott always produces some entertaining two and three wheeled action and this year was no exception. The solo outfit category was dominated by KTMs with Saturdays runs seeing Tommy Hodges come out top on his Team GV machine ahead of Paul Jarrett and Tom Short. Sidecar honours went on both days to the Formula 2 Honda powered outfit of Jayne and Simon Foster while Issac and Jon Warren were tops among the trikes on their Suzuki powered machine.

Sunday’s action concluded with a thrilling Top 10 run off with the last bike up the hill being that of Tom Short who set his best time of the weekend to claim the win. Second place went to Tommy Hodges while Paul Jarrett finished third.

Returning finally to the cars Saturday’s FTD went to Chris Green in his OMS 28 single seater with a time of 40.65 seconds. Fastest on Sunday was the glorious sounding Special Sand Racer of Scott Rayson, Scott setting a time of 42.27s.

The next competitive hill climb action at Prescott comes on June 29th with a Members Meeting.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page