top of page


Bugatti Owners’ Club’s Members Day produced plenty of close, entertaining on-hill action supplied by both the Club’s own series and competitors in the Porsche Club GB Speed Championship with NINEMEISTER.

Top honours in the saloon car class of the BOC Handicap went to Johnny Hulme at the wheel of his Renault Five GT Turbo Coupe. Stuart Diaper was the only other driver to better his handicap time in his Ford Anglia 105E to claim second place. Meanwhile, Andrew Till missed out on his target by just three tenths of a second as he took take third place.

The sports car category also saw two cars better their handicap times with Oliver Chilton taking top honours in his Mazda MX5 ahead of the similar car of David Birch. Carl Talbot missed out on his target time by just two hundredth of a second as he took his Buckler 90 to third place.

Denis Bissell claimed victory in the race car category in his 600cc motorcycle engined Nemesis HC92 single seater ahead of the Mallock Mk20B sports racer of Marc Taylor.

In the Fassi Classic Speed Championship it was Andrew Clarke who took Class 1 honours in his Alfa Romeo GTV ahead of the 1700cc Ford Anglia of Dave Parr. Graham Hill took third place in his 1380cc classic shape Mini Cooper S, a hundredth of second behind the Anglia on adjusted times.

After adjustments for handicap, just three tenths of a second separated the top 3 cars in Class 2 with the win going to Dominic Cheater is his Porsche 914, narrowly beating the MG Midget of Ben Cross. Once again, the gap between second and third was a scant one hundredth of a second, Ted Elwes taking his MGA to third. Top honours in class 3 went to the Mallock Mk6B of Christopher Wigdor.

Top honours in the Expert class of the New Barn RS Interclub Speed Championship went to Will Gough in his Alfa Romeo 4C. Runner up was Findlay Bewicke Copley in his Mazda Eunos. The gap between second and third in this class was seven hundredths of a second with the final podium place going to Alex Risk driving a Skoda Citigo.

The win in the Novice class went to Steve Hodgkins, the Audi TT driver bettering his target time by a hundredth of a second more than second placed Mike Dockery in his Subaru Sti. Third place went to Mike Brakes in his Ford Fiesta ST 150.

The Porsche Club GB Speed Championship with NINEMEISTER attracted a strong entry with consistency paying dividends for Richard Snow as he recorded identical times of 47.89s on both runs to take victory in his Porsche Cayman GT4. David Dyson managed to find a little over a tenth of a second between his two runs but was still a third of a second down on the class winner and had to settle for second place in his 992 GT3. Third place went to David Hilton at the wheel of his 996.

The win in the Bugatti Williams Monaco Trophy Cars Handicap was claimed by Edmund Burgess and his Type 51.

Finally, Fastest Time of the Day was set by Nigel Pitt in his 1000cc motorcycle engined OMS3000 single seater with a time of 41.15 seconds.

Competitive on hill action returns to Prescott on the weekend of July 13th/14th with Saturday’s Club Meeting followed by a round of the highly competitive Midlands Hillclimb Championship on Sunday.

Full details of this and all other Bugatti Owners’ Club events can be found at

Photos: Peter Baker



bottom of page